God love elastic pants

Dear Gummy Bear:

I wore elastic-waist maternity pants for the first time this past Monday. And every day since. You have grown so much that there is no denying you’re in my tummy, and my regular pants just aren’t comfortable anymore. Elastic, however, is a godsend. The ladies at work have started noticing that I’m pregnant with you, even people I didn’t tell, so it’s pretty obvious now, and I couldn’t be happier about it.

I’m told that you’re about the size of a large onion this week. At 17 weeks along, you have fingerprints and can hear the sound of my voice. I’m told that you will remember it, and know me by its sound when you arrive. I’ve gained a total of 5 pounds now, which is proof that you’re still growing and thriving. I haven’t felt you move yet, or at least I don’t think I have, but I’m told it’s hard to tell at first. It’s getting a little harder for me to get up off the couch, and to bend over at the waist, but still no real discomfort. I’ve been very lucky!

Next Wednesday morning we go see Dr. Kesler for our mid-term sonogram and anatomy exam to measure you and make sure everything is growing as it’s supposed to. This is also the time when we could find out of you’re a boy or a girl, but we still want to be surprised.

Your daddy and I finished baby registries at Target, Babies-R-Us and Amazon.com. We have all the plans ready for your bedroom now too – it’s just a matter of getting started.

We love you so much!

Leave a Reply

